21st Congress of International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage (ICID)

21st Congress of International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage (ICID) 


The 21st  congress of  International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage( ICID), the 8th  congress of International Micro-irrigation  and the 62nd meeting of International Executive Council(IEC) of ICID were held from 15-23 October 2011 in Tehran, Iran. More than 1200 delegates( professionals, scientists, irrigation managers, policy makers, consultants, and students) from 55 countries and international organizations  gathered in Tehran to participate in this mega event.  The event was formally inaugurated by H.E. Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, president of Iran.The theme of the congress was “Water Productivity towards Food Security”. More than 200 papers were presented. Nepal, being an active member country of ICID, Ministry of Irrigation of Nepal nominated Member Secretary of Nepal National Committee for Irrigation and Drainage (NENCID) and Deputy Director General  Mr. Uttam Raj Timilsina to participate in the event from Nepal.  Two papers, on Micro-Irrigation and  case study on Climate Change Adaptation Strategy for Agricultural Practices at study area of Indrawati Basin in Kabhre and Sindhupalchok districts, were presented from Nepal.


In the 62nd IEC meeting of ICID Prof. Dr. Gao Zhanyi from China Committee for Irrigation and Drainage(CNCID) was elected as new President of ICID for 3 years’ term (2011-2014) and among 9 Vice presidents, 3 Vice Presidents namely Prof. Dr.Tai Cheol,Kim from South Korea, Mr. Adama Sangare, from Mali, and Dr. Gerhard Backeberg from South Africa were also elected for this 3 years’ term (2011-2014) by the International Congress. Dr. Gao took over the post of President from Dr.Chandra Madramootoo whose presidential term ended after the Tehran IEC meeting. Prof.Dr. Gao is the Director of National Centre for Efficient Irrigation Technology Research in Institute of Water Resources and Hydropower Research, China (IWHR) . The 62nd IEC meeting ratified the selection and appointment of Mr.Avinash C. Tyagi as new Secretary General in the place of Mr. M. Gopalakrishna. Similarly,  Mr. Uttam Raj Timilsina  from Nepal has been nominated as member of Asia Regional Working Group(ASRWG)of ICID.  In the concluding meeting of ICE, 13 points recommendation was approved in line with the Tehran declaration of  “Water productivity towards food security”.  The next ICE meeting venue has been dicided in Australia in June, 2012.


Blog Attachment

Leave us a Comment